Committee Charge and Membership


Committee Charge

The Educational Effectiveness Committee

  1. guides the development of indicators and evidence of educational effectiveness across academic and co-curricular programs at LLU (see EEC Flow Chart of Committees, p. 2)
  2. facilitates the establishment of a culture of continuous assessment leading to evidence-based decision making
  3. makes evidence-based recommendations for change in institutional structures and processes
  4. facilitates communication and disseminates information among the network of Educational Effectiveness committees

It reports to the University Academic Affairs Committee and is guided by the University accreditation Steering Committee.


  1. Oversee the development, process, and results of University SLO assessment and program review.
  2. Serve as a resource to the University on educational effectiveness best practices.
  3. Promote a climate of inquiry among the LLU faculty where measuring educational effectiveness is understood and accepted.
  4. Coordinate the development of educational effectiveness sections of University accreditation reports, including WSCUC, AAA, etc. 



  • Kyle Sousa - Associate Dean of Academic Affairs, School of Pharmacy
  • Zack Plantak - Program Director, MA Religion & Society, School of Religion


  • University Services

    • Provost - Ron Carter
    • Educational Technology Services - Kirk Campbell, Director
    • Information Systems
      • D.P. Harris, Vice President
      • John Wical, Director, Administrative System
    • University Libraries - Shanalee Tamares, Director
    • Educational Effectiveness
      • Ken Nelson, Director
      • Diane Mattheson, Academic Liaison
  • Leadership of Educational Effectiveness Committees

    • Academic Service Learning
      • J.C. Belliard (Director, LLU Institute for Community Partnerships)
      • Jeffrey Gang (School of Religion)
    • Assessment Technology
      • Rasha Abdrabou (School of Allied Health Professions )
      • Lisa Butler (School of Nursing)
    • Co-curricular
      • Kathryn Knecht (School of Pharmacy)
      • Terry Swenson (Chaplain, Campus Ministries)
    • Climate Survey 
      • Karl Haffner (Vice President for Student Experience)
    • Digital Education
      • Kirk Campbell (Director, Educational Technology Services)
    • Learning Outcomes
      • Paul Gavaza (School of Pharmacy)
      • Nancy Sarpy (School of Nursing)
      • Program Review
        • Diane Mattheson (Academic Liaison)
        • TBD
      • Student Success
        • Michael Iorio (School of Allied Health Professions)
        • Donna Thorpe (School of Allied Health Professions)
      • University Assessment
        • Donna Gurule (School of Public Health)
        • Natalie Hohensee (School of Dentistry)
    • Schools

      • Allied Health Professions
        • Ernest Schwab (Associate Dean)
      • Behavioral Health
        • Adam Arechiga (Associate Academic Dean)
      • Dentistry
        • TBD
      • Faculty of Graduate Studies
        • TBD
      • Medicine
        • Dustin Smith (Director, Medical Simulation Center)
        • Lynda Daniel-Underwood (Associate Dean, Curriculum Evaluation and Learner Assessment)
        • Hansel Fletcher (Assistant Dean Graduate Student Affairs)
      • Nursing
        • Brandie Richards (Associate Dean, Undergraduate Programs and Student Affairs)
      • Pharmacy
        • Kyle Sousa (Associate Academic Dean)
      • Public Health
        • Donna Gurule (Associate Dean for Academic Administration, School of Public Health)
      • Religion
        • Zane Yi (Academic Dean)
    • University Faculty Council

      • Allied Health Professions
        • Rasha Abdrabou
      • Nursing
        • Judith Peters
    • WSCUC Assessment Leadership Academy

      • Rasha Abdrabou
      • W. Ken Nelson
      • Donna Thorpe