Honors and Awards

Professional Awards and Honors

  • Outstanding Student Research Supervisor, Walter E. Macpherson Society (2005)
  • Derek Harwood-Nash Award for Best paper in Pediatric Neuroradiology, at the Annual Meeting of the American Society of Neuroradiology, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada, May 11-17, 2002, for paper entitled, “Improved detection of hemorrhagic shearing injuries in children with posttraumatic diffuse axonal injury using susceptibility-weighted imaging: correlation with severity and outcome.” (Present - 2002)
  • Excellence in Teaching Award, PAIRS (Professional Association of Internes and Residents of Saskatchewan) (Present - 1998)
  • Nominated for Excellence in Teaching Award, College of Medicine, University of Saskatchewan (Present - 1998)
  • Membership to Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society, Epsilon Chapter of California. (Present - 1994)
  • Selected as one of two chief residents of Diagnostic Radiology residency program at Loma Linda University Medical Center (Present - 1993)
  • Selected to represent LLUMC radiology residency at Introduction to Research (sponsored by RSNA/AUR/ARRS), at RSNA 1991. (Present - 1991)
  • Ishiyaku Euroamerica Inc./Piccin Medical Book Prize (Present - 1989)

University Awards and Honors

  • B.C. Post-secondary Scholarship (Present - 1988)
  • B.C. Post-secondary Scholarship;         Louis Lipsey Toohill Scholarship;         John J. Mason Memorial Scholarship (Present - 1987)
  • Dean's Honor List, Faculty of Science, Graduating Class of 1986;      U.B.C. Scholarship Dr. Chan and Peggy Gunn Prize;      Edgar C. Black Memorial Prize in Honors Physiology;     B.C. Post-secondary Scholarship (Present - 1986)
  • U.B.C. Scholarship;      Charles A. and Jane C.A. Banks Foundation Scholarship;      B.C. Post-secondary Scholarship (Present - 1985)
  • Charles A. and Jane C.A. Banks Foundation Scholarship (Present - 1983)
  • U.B.C. Spring/Summer Scholarship;     U.B.C. Scholarship;     Real Estate Board of Greater Vancouver University Entrance Scholarship (Present - 1982)